Ellington Forever: Scott Hamilton

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of Duke Ellington’s death – on May 24, 1974 – I’ve asked a number of jazz musicians and aficionados to share their thoughts and feelings about this titan of the music. Today: the magisterial American tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton. Next time: Russell Davies

Scott Hamilton, Pizza Express, March 2022 (c) Alison Kerr

How did you first hear or become aware of Duke Ellington and his music?

When I was little (maybe 8), I became fascinated with the chapter on Ellington in The Pictorial History of Jazz. I was especially fascinated by Johnny Hodges who I thought looked so cool. I saved up and bought In A Mellotone at the record store and played it to death.

Which period or periods of Ellington’s career are you fondest of?

They are all equally interesting to me.

Did you ever see him and his band perform?

Yes! The first time was 1970 at Providence College, about a month before Hodges died. After that, I saw the band twice – once at a dance, which was pretty amazing. We could stand right in front of the saxes and read the music.

Which are your favourite recordings? 

I love too many to list here but I’m really fond of Unknown Session and Ellington 65 and 66.

Do you remember when Duke Ellington died – and what the reaction was like? 

Right before I came to NY the whole band started dying. It was spooky. One of my first gigs was at Gregory’s on 1st Ave. Brooks Kerr was the leader and the band was Russell Procope and Sonny Greer. And me for 8 weeks!

Scott Hamilton & Brian Kellock (piano) play the Edinburgh Jazz Festival on July 18

Leave a comment

Filed under Ellingtonia

Leave a comment